img

Bumrah’s Blunder: A Handshake Snub Steals the Spotlight After India’s Dominant Win

Sarita Dey
4 weeks ago

India’s convincing 68-run victory over England in the T20 World Cup semi-final was a night of celebration. Rohit Sharma’s classy 57 and a clinical bowling performance propelled them to their second consecutive World Cup final. But amidst the jubilation, a seemingly minor incident involving Jasprit Bumrah went viral, leaving everyone a tad confused.

Read more: T20 World Cup 2024 Final : Tears of relief – a captain’s burden

A Handshake Gone Wrong: Bumrah Left Hanging

As the customary post-match handshakes with the umpires began, all the Indian players lined up to express their gratitude. However, in a moment caught on camera, the umpire completely bypassed Bumrah, leaving the pacer with his hand extended in an awkward rejection. Even after a brief glance in Bumrah’s direction, the umpire proceeded to shake hands with other players.

This unexpected snub sparked a wave of amusement and speculation online. Was it a deliberate act? A simple oversight? The internet buzzed with theories, with the video quickly becoming a trending topic.

India’s Record-Breaking Rampage Continues

Thankfully, the handshake incident didn’t overshadow India’s dominant performance. Arshdeep Singh’s three wickets cemented his position as the tournament’s leading wicket-taker (15), surpassing Bumrah (13) and etching his name in the history books. This win also extended India’s T20I winning streak to a staggering 11 matches, their second-best in the format, falling just short of their 12-match record in 2021-2022.

With seven wins under their belt, India now holds the second-highest record for most wins in a single T20 World Cup edition, trailing only South Africa’s unbeaten run (8 wins) in the 2024 tournament.

Read more: Ajinkya Rahane Seeks Revival with Leicestershire

A Sign of Things to Come? India Eyes the Trophy

The handshake incident, though lighthearted, served as a brief distraction from India’s phenomenal display. They are a team on fire, boasting an in-form batting line-up and a potent bowling attack. The question now remains – can they maintain this momentum and conquer the undefeated South Africans in the final?

Do you think the handshake snub will have any impact on Bumrah’s performance in the final? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

Dream11 Free and Paid Team – Join Telegram Channel Click

Recent News