Bavuma and Elgar have elected the new captains of South Africa

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the appointments of Temba Bavuma and Dean Elgar as the new captains of the men’s team of South Africa

Temba Bavuma has selected for white-ball captaincy he will lead the team in the 2021-22 ICC men’s T20 International world cup as well as ICC men’s ODI world cup 2023

Dean Elgar, on the other hand, has been given the longest format reins and he will lead South Africa in the next round of the ICC World Test Championship.

Temba Bavuma played 44 test matches and scored 2097 runs and 6 ODI matches and scored 335 runs with an average of 55.8

Dean Elgar played 67 Test matches for South Africa and total scored 4260 and also he took 15 wickets with his slow-left arm bowling in the tests

“I have enjoyed the responsibility of leading the South Africa team. I even have done this for several years, particularly with the Lions It is a work of balance between your ambitions as a player and the interests of the team,” – Temba Bavuma said

Elgar and Bavuma captains of South Africa

Graeme Smith said, “We are grateful to De Cock that he has served as the captain of South Africa in the white-ball format and we expect him to play an integral role in the team’s leadership group.

“We are excited for Temba Bavuma to lead the South Africa men’s in the T20 World Cup as well as the 2023 World Cup in India. He will also be the vice-captain of the Test team, he added

“We are very confident that Dean Elgar will bring as much patience and determination to his captaincy as he has brought to many of his performances over the years.” – Graeme Smith

Read this: CSA announces South Africa Women’s squad for India Tour

CSA Director Graeme Smith

South Africa’s upcoming schedule in the series of Pakistan tour of South Africa

Schedule for ODI Pakistan Tour to South Africa:

April 2 – 1st ODI- SuperSport Park, Centurion

April 4 – 2nd ODI- Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

April 7 – 3rd ODI- SuperSport Park, Centurion

Schedule for T20I Pakistan Tour to South Africa:

April 10 – 1st T20I- Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

April 12 – 2nd T20I- Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

April 14– 3rd T20I- SuperSport Park, Centurion

April 16– 4th T20I- SuperSport Park, Centurion

Recent News