IND vs AUS 2nd T20: Nathan Lyon replaces injured Agar for Australia T20 squad

Dream Baba
3 years ago

IND vs AUS 2nd T20: Australia has added Test spinner Nathan Lyon to their T20 squad as a replacement for injured Ashton Agar.

Australia plays India on Sunday at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Agar has suffered a calf injury, according to CA report. Following the series-ending injury to left arm-spinner, Lyon joins Mitchell Swepson as new additions to the T20 squad and is likely to feature in the 2nd T20.

Australia have also relieved Cameron Green from the team to be part of Australia A’s three-day tour game against the Indians which will be played at Drummoyne Oval in Sydney on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday.

Green is one of seven Test squad members in the Australia A squad, joining Tim Paine, Joe Burns, Travis Head, Michael Neser, James Pattinson and Will Pucovski.

Read More | Everyone was asking questions when I picked T Natarajan in KXIP squad: Virender Sehwag

The Aussies will be keenly waiting on the results of scans for skipper Aaron Finch, who suffered an injury to his hip region at Manuka Oval on Friday.

If Finch is sidelined from one or both of the final T20I fixtures at the SCG (on Sunday and Tuesday) it is unclear who will take over the leadership of the white-ball outfit.

According to multiple local reports, Steve Smith might be recalled as the captain. Allrounder Moises Henriques also boasts significant leadership experience with New South Wales and the Sydney Sixers in the KFC BBL, Glenn Maxwell captains the Melbourne Stars, and former Test skipper Steve Smith is eligible to once again captain his country having been banned from the role for two years after the 2018 Cape Town controversy.

Australia vs India T20 squad 2020

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan

Recent News