Injury Scare for Shreyas Iyer Head of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

Ahead of the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, Mumbai has a few reasons to worry as their stalwart Shreyas Iyer might miss out on playing the tournament.

Shreyas Iyer was a part of the Indian squad for the ODI and T20I series in Australia.

In the three 50-overs matches, the right-hander managed scores of two, 38 and 19, depicting that he wasn’t quite at his very best.

He featured in the first two T20Is before being benched for the dead rubber. However, amidst all the cricket he has played, he has been going through a shoulder injury as well.

The youngster injured his left shoulder during an Indian Premier League match against Rajasthan Royals. But he managed to recover and took his team, Delhi Capitals to the final against Mumbai Indians.

But in Australia, Iyer’s shoulder injury resurfaced when he sustained a blow on his shoulder while fielding during the second ODI at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

He continued playing but cut down on his batting time in the nets. For the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) named him as skipper of one of the four teams, released on Friday, December 18.

Read More | Pakistan players set to participate in Abu Dhabi T10

Read | Prithvi Shaw dismissal: Watch Pat Cummins sends back Indian opener cheaply in Adelaide Test

As per reports in Mid-day, Iyer is set to undergo rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.

He has been in Dubai after the conclusion of the ODIs and T20Is in Australia. In the last couple of years, Iyer has come up the ranks and has enhanced his reputation, both as a skipper and as a batsman.

He is also, seemingly, India’s answer to the number four position. Ahead of the SMAT, four teams will be playing practice matches at the BKC Ground and Wankhede Stadium from December 21 to December 25.

Mumbai cricket has undergone quite a few changes in recent times. They have appointed former batter Amit Pagnis as their coach for the 2020-21 season.

Source: Click here

Recent News