No Ranji Trophy in 2020-21,BCCI opts for 50-over Vijay Hazare

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

No Ranji Trophy For First Time In 87 Years, BCCI To Host Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The Ranji Trophy won’t be held during the truncated 2020-21 season, instead, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to conduct the 50-over Vijay Hazare Trophy and the senior women’s One-day tournament.

“I am extremely happy to inform you that we are going to conduct the Senior Women’s One Day tournament simultaneously with the Vijay Hazare Trophy and follow it up with Vinoo Mankad Trophy Under-19. This has been decided after having received your feedback on the domestic season 2020-21,” Shah wrote a letter to state associations.

The BCCI had consulted the state cricket associations about which domestic tournaments to conduct in the pandemic-affected season. A majority of them were in favor of the 50-over format over the four-day Ranji Trophy.

 the BCCI communicated to all state associations that there will be no Ranji Trophy this year because of a lack of a sufficient window.

The Ranji Trophy would have needed more than 70 days and Vijay Hazare can be wrapped up in 34 days without having to overlap or go beyond the IPL, which is scheduled to start in April.

The BCCI is running short of time because the Indian Premier League could start in April, which means domestic players, who are part of the teams, will have to be available to play in the T20 league.

Recent News