On this day in 2018: India lifted record 4th U19 World Cup title

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

On this day in 2018 (February 3), India’s young brigade defeated Australia by eight wickets at Bay Oval in Tauranga to lift the ICC U19 World Cup for the record fourth time.

Prithvi Shaw-led side remained unbeaten in the tournament, winning all six matches.

The side stormed into the summit clash after a thumping victory over arch-rivals Pakistan in the semifinal. India defeated Pakistan by 203 runs to set-up a clash against Australia in the final.

Chasing a paltry total of 217, India were powered by opener Manjot Kalra’s unbeaten 101. wicketkeeper Harvik Desai’s not out 47. India chased down the total comfortably in 38.5 overs.

India got off to a decent start with openers Prithvi Shaw and Kalra playing some confident shots early on.

Australia finally broke the opening stand with Will Sutherland cleaning up Indian captain Shaw (29) and breaking the 71-run partnership.

Shubman Gill joined Kalra in the middle and the duo further dented Australia with a half-century stand. For the second wicket, the duo shared 70 runs.

List Of All The ICC Under-19 World Cup Winners:

WinnerRunner-up Year/Host
EnglandNew Zealand1998/ South Africa
IndiaSri Lanka2000/Sri Lanka
AustraliaSouth Africa2002/New Zealand
PakistanWest Indies2004/Bangladesh
PakistanIndia2006/Sri Lanka
IndiaSouth Africa2008/Malaysia
AustraliaPakistan2010/New Zealand
South AfricaPakistan2014/UAE
West IndiesIndia2016/Bangladesh
India Australia2018/New Zealand
BangladeshIndia2020/South Africa

Kalra won the Man of the Match match award for his anchor knock while Shubman Gill won Player of the Tournament for his superb efforts in the U19 World Cup 2018.

He amassed 373 runs in the tournament. In the latest edition of the tournament in 2020, India lost to Bangladesh by three wickets in a thrilling final.

Recent News