Pakistan name 18-man squad for the T20I series against New Zealand

Dream Baba
3 years ago

Pakistan has named the 18-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against New Zealand.

The visiting contingent is already in the Kiwi country and serving the quarantine period.

As far as the squad is concerned, it was picked by the head coach Misbah-ul-Haq, skipper Babar Azam in consultation with Pakistan Shaheens’ coach Ijaz Ahmed.

In the same meeting, the 16-man squad of the Shaheens for the four-day match against New Zealand A to be played from December 17 was also finalised.

Only Sarfaraz Ahmed and Hussain Talat have been added to the team that defeated Zimbabwe 3-0 last month at home. Fakhar Zaman is a notable player missing from the T20I squad who was unwell when the team was set to travel to New Zealand and will miss this entire tour itself.

Read More | Justin Langer reveals why Steve Smith didn’t captain the Australia team

“The squad comprises young, talented and high-performing players, who are determined and eager to make names for themselves and further cement their places in the side,” he said according to the press release from PCB. Meanwhile, the visitors are set to leave the isolation facility in a couple of days.

The T20I series is set to begin on December 18 and Pakistan coach Misbah-ul-Haq is confident of the team picked. He reckons that the players are excited and determined to do well on the tour. “For the T20Is, we have retained the squad that has been playing together for some time.

Pakistan T20I Squad: Babar Azam (C), Shadab Khan (VC), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Musa Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Wahab Riaz.

Source: click here

Recent News