Cricket News

Ranji Trophy: Madhya Pradesh enter the final after 23 years, Mumbai on the verge of becoming champions for the 42nd time

Ranji Trophy; The final match of Ranji Trophy 2021-22 will be between Madhya Pradesh and Mumbai. In this final match to be held from June 22 to 26, Mumbai will try to become the champion for the 42nd time. At the same time, Madhya Pradesh will enter the field with the intention of becoming the Ranji champion for the first time.


Also Read:- IND vs SA: Dinesh Karthik became Player of the Match for the third time in T20 career

Madhya Pradesh beat Bengal by 174 runs in semi finals :-

The first semi-final match of this tournament was played between Madhya Pradesh and Bengal and this match was won by Madhya Pradesh by 174 runs. At the same time, the second semi-final match between Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh ended in a draw, but on the basis of the first innings lead, Mumbai made it to the final. Mumbai has reached the final for a record 47th time.

Madhya Pradesh had earlier reached the finals in 1998-99 :-

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh had reached the final only once. Madhya Pradesh, who played the final for the first time in 1998-99, had to face defeat against Karnataka. Now this team will try to win the Ranji Trophy for the first time.

Brilliant victory of Madhya Pradesh, defeated Bengal :-

In the first semi-final match, Madhya Pradesh won the toss and elected to bat and scored 341 runs in the first innings. Himanshu Mantri played an excellent innings of 165 runs and Akshat Raghuvanshi supported him with 63 runs. For Bengal, Mukesh Kumar took four and Shahbaz Ahmed took three wickets.

In reply, Bengal’s team could only score 273 runs. From here it was almost decided to play the final of Madhya Pradesh. In the first innings, only three batsmen could touch the double figure for Bengal.

Manoj Tiwary scored 102 and Shahbaz Ahmed scored 116 runs. Madhya Pradesh’s Kumar Karthikeya, Shreyans Jain and Puneet Date took three wickets each.

In the second innings, the Bengal team was reduced to the score of 175 runs :-

In the second innings, Madhya Pradesh’s team was reduced to 281 runs. Rajat Patidar scored 79 and Aditya Srivastava scored 82 runs. For Bengal, Shahbaz Ahmed took five and Pradipta Pramanik took four wickets.

Now in the fourth innings, Bengal had a target of 350 runs, but Bengal’s batsmen could only score 175 runs. Captain Abhimanyu Easwaran scored 78 runs. For Madhya Pradesh, Kumar Karthikeya took five and Gaurav Yadav took three wickets.

Also Read:- England’s Katherine Brunt Announces Retirement From Test Cricket

Mumbai won on the basis of first innings lead :-

Ranji Trophy: In the second semi-final against Uttar Pradesh, Mumbai scored 393 runs in the first innings. Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 100 and Hardik Tamore scored 115 runs. UP’s Karn Sharma took four wickets. In reply, Uttar Pradesh could only score 180 runs. Shivam Mavi scored the highest 48 runs.

Mumbai’s Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi and Tanush Kotyan took three wickets each. Mumbai declared the second innings at 533 for four. Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 181 and Armaan Jaffer scored 127 runs.

Prince Yadav took two wickets. Uttar Pradesh did not bat in the second innings, but on the basis of the first innings lead, Mumbai reached the final.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button