The 11 players for the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022 have been revealed. Who has impressed one and all – be it with the bat, the ball, or their all-round exploits in a calendar year.

We take a look at 11 players who made it to the shortest format of the game in men’s cricket.

1. England‘s Jos Buttler (c, wk)

Jos Buttler had an incredible year as both a player and captain. In 15 matches, Buttler accumulated 462 runs at an explosive strike rate of 160.41, often taking the opposition batting out of the game in the opening exchanges.

Also read:- Virat Kohli has A Chance To Break Sachin Tendulkar’s Record

2. Pakistan‘s Mohammad Rizwan

Mohammad Rizwan continued his form from 2021 to 2022, scoring 996 runs in the year, second only to India’s dynamo Suryakumar Yadav in the list of most runs in men’s T20Is.

The 11 Players Revealed For ICC Men’s T20I Team Of The Year 2022

3. India‘s Virat Kohli

2022 was the year when Virat Kohli once again showed glimpses of Virat Kohli of the olden days.

He took the Asia Cup by storm as the second-highest run-scorer with 276 runs in five matches. He also ended his century drought of nearly three years with a brilliant century against Afghanistan.

4. India‘s Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav had a sensational 2022 in T20Is, becoming only the second batsman to score over 1000 runs in a calendar year in the format.

He ended the year as the highest run-getter, scoring 1164 runs, including two centuries and nine half-centuries while scoring at an impressive 187.43.

Former selector express disappointment after India drops Suryakumar Yadav  for ODI against Sri Lanka | Mint
The 11 Players Revealed For ICC Men’s T20I Team Of The Year 2022

5. New Zealand‘s Glenn Phillips

Batting, bowling, fielding – there is nothing that Glenn Phillips cannot do on the cricket field. The 26-year-old once again displayed remarkable consistency in the shortest format, scoring 716 runs in 21 matches at a strike rate of 156.33.

6. Zimbabwe‘s Sikandar Raza

Sikandar Raza had a stellar year with the bat and also contributed significantly with the ball in T20Is.

He was at the center of all the good things that happened for Zimbabwe cricket during the year, with the all-rounder producing one stupendous performance after another in the shortest format.

7. India‘s Hardik Pandya

In 2022, Hardik Pandya came into his own as the all-rounder India wanted to contribute heavily with both bat and ball.

He enjoyed his best year in terms of numbers in Indian colors, scoring 607 runs and also taking 20 wickets.

Presenting the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2022
The 11 Players Revealed For ICC Men’s T20I Team Of The Year 2022

8. England‘s Sam Curran

Player of the tournament in the 2022 T20 World Cup, Sam Curran added another dimension to his bowling by becoming a solid death-overs specialist in England’s title-winning campaign. He picked up 13 wickets in six matches in the absence of several key bowlers.

9. Sri Lanka‘s Wanindu Hasaranga

Wanindu Hasaranga remained Sri Lanka’s talisman in a year where they reigned supreme as champions of the Asia Cup.

He picked up nine crucial wickets in six matches in the Asia Cup but also showed he could do damage with the bat, scoring a brilliant 27-ball 37 in the final against Pakistan to rescue his team.

10. Pakistan‘s Haris Rauf

Pakistan enjoyed a wonderful 2022 as a team – making it to the final of the Asia Cup and later to the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup.

Haris Rauf was a key figure in both those campaigns. In the calendar year, no Pakistan bowler took more wickets than the right-handed batsman (31).

Haris Rauf on Virat Kohli's sixes: 'Had DK or Hardik Pandya hit me like  that...' | Mint
The 11 Players Revealed For ICC Men’s T20I Team Of The Year 2022

Read more:- Mehidy Hasan Miraz Promoted To All-Format BCB Contract in 2022

11. Ireland‘s Josh Little

The second-highest wicket-taker in the calendar year, Josh Little leads the Ireland attack in 2022 with an impressive pedigree.

The left-arm pacer took 39 wickets during the calendar year, of which 11 came in the T20 World Cup.