The 5 Cricketers, Who Won The Lok Sabha Elections, Have Won The World Cup

Sangeeta Viswas
1 month ago

The 5 cricketers, who won the Lok Sabha elections, have won the World Cup. Gautam Gambhir is one of the few Indian cricketers who was a member of the World Cup-winning team and also won the Lok Sabha elections.

He Distanced Himself From Politics Before The Lok Sabha Elections in 2024:-

Gautam Gambhir won the elections from East Delhi in 2019 on a BJP ticket. However, before the Lok Sabha elections in 2024, he distanced himself from politics. Gautam Gambhir was the top scorer in the finals of the T20 World Cup 2007 and ODI World Cup 2011.

Also read:- The Unique Record in Cricket History! When 4 Brother Pairs From The Same Team Entered The Field

Navjot Singh Sidhu, who played 187 matches for India, entered politics after retiring from cricket. He joined BJP in 2004.

Sidhu, who was popular with the name ‘Sikkar King’ in his time, became an MP by winning the 2004, 2007 (by-election) and 2009 Lok Sabha elections. In the year 2016, he also became a Rajya Sabha member. However, this year he left the Rajya Sabha membership and joined the Congress Party.

Mohammad Azharuddin Also Tried His Luck in Politics:-

Mohammad Azharuddin, who captained the Indian cricket team in 3 World Cups, also tried his luck in politics. He won the Lok Sabha elections in 2009 as a Congress candidate from Moradabad.

Azhar contested the Lok Sabha elections in 2014 from Tonk and lost. Azhar, one of the most stylish cricketers in the country, has the record of scoring centuries in the first three Test matches of his career.

Kirti Azad, who was an important part of Kapil Dev’s team in the World Cup 1983, played openly on the electoral field after cricket. Kirti Azad won from Darbhanga in 1999 on a BJP ticket. However, later he joined Congress.

Azad is The Son Of Former Bihar Chief Minister Bhagwat Jha Azad:-

He was defeated in the Lok Sabha elections in 2019. After this, he joined the Trinamool Congress. Kirti Azad is the son of former Chief Minister of Bihar Bhagwat Jha Azad.

Chetan Chauhan, who was Sunil Gavaskar’s opening partner, was elected MP twice. He won elections from Amroha in 1991 and 1998 on a BJP ticket. However, he had to face defeat in the subsequent elections. Chetan Chauhan died of Covid in the year 2020.

If all-rounder Yusuf Pathan wins the Lok Sabha elections in 2024, he will also enter the club of those five cricketers including Gambhir, and Sidhu, who became MPs by public vote. TMC has fielded Yusuf Pathan from the Baharampur seat.

Read more:- IPL 2024: The Biggest Record Of IPL On Target Of Yuzi! What The Big Giants Could Not Do

Many cricketers including Sachin Tendulkar, and Harbhajan Singh have also been MPs. Sachin, who scored 100 international centuries, was nominated to Rajya Sabha.

Dream11 Free and Paid Team – Join Telegram Channel Click Here

Recent News