Two Indian women cricketers to debut in WBBL this year

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

Two Indian women cricketers to debut in Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) this year

Two women cricketers from India will now be seen playing in Australia’s T20 League Women’s Big Bash. From this year, it will also have the debut of India’s explosive opener Shafali Verma and all-rounder Radha Yadav. According to ESPNcricinfo, 17-year-old Shafali Verma has been signed with 2-time champion team Sydney Sixers. While 21-year-old Radha Yadav has also signed a 2-year deal with the Sydney-based club. Apart from these two players, another Indian player is expected to make his debut in the tournament.

Shafali Verma’s father told ESPNcricinfo that she had an agreement with the Sydney Sixers. For this, he thanked the BCCI and Haryana Cricket Association, which gave his daughter the freedom to play in the Women’s Big Bash League. He said that without the cooperation of the Haryana Cricket Association, it was not difficult for Shefali to progress so much in his career.

Harmanpreet, Mandhana, Rodrigues set to miss WBBL - Sportstar

More Indian players will play this time in Women’s Big Bash

A senior BCCI official told ESPNcricinfo that this time India’s biggest team will be seen playing cricket in the Women’s Big Bash. All the players who have been approached by teams of Big Bash have been allowed to play in it. Till now only 3 Indian players were part of the Women’s Big Bash. These included India’s T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur, vice-captain Smriti Mandhana and Veda Krishnamurthy. Kaur has an agreement with the Sydney Thunder team. While Mandhana’s Brisbane hit, Veda has played one season for Hurricane.

Saefali Verma will also play in England’s league

Shefali Verma has also tied up to play in the League of England league last week, which is a 100-ball domestic tournament. In that league too, Shafali will be seen playing alongside Harmanpreet, Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, and Jemimah Rodrigues. This time will be the 7th season of WBBL, which is likely to start in October-November. For this, all foreign players will have to stay in Quarantine for 14 days upon reaching Australia.

Recent News