IND vs NZ: Under the leadership of Shikhar Dhawan, India will start the ODI series against New Zealand in Auckland on Friday i.e. 25 November. While Shikhar Dhawan and New Zealand captain Kane Williamson unveiled the trophy for the series on Thursday morning. According to Shikhar, by performing well in the series, the player will make every effort to make a place in the 2023 ODI World Cup team. Also, Dhawan himself will once again try to impress the selectors with his batting and leadership ability.

Read more: What kind of Pakistan is this, even the defeated players are respected

Dhawan further said, “This preparation is about the upcoming World Cup. The players are building really good form. Nice to see they are doing well and we have a really cool idea…. Who will get a chance to make it to the World Cup team.”

Shikhar Dhawan’s vice-captain Rishabh Pant will look to hit some form during the series. Deepak Chahar, on the other hand, will look to prove his fitness. Earlier, the fast bowler had missed the T20 World Cup due to a back injury.

Read more: ICC ODI Ranking: England lost the number one position in ODI rankings, know which position Team India is at

Talking about the captaincy role, the Indian skipper said, “I am really fortunate to have got to captain the Indian team. It is great to have this challenging opportunity. We have also won a good series. I didn’t feel sad when the captaincy was taken back from me. I don’t feel bad if something doesn’t happen the way we wanted.”

IND vs NZ LIVE: How can India become world number 1?

India is currently at number three in the ODI rankings, two points behind leaders New Zealand.
A 3-0 series win will see the Men in Blue leapfrog to the top and become the No.1 team in the world.
A 2-1 series win sees a tie between India and England, with both teams having 113 rating points.
A series win for New Zealand would see Kane Williamson’s side retain their numero uno rank.

IND vs NZ ODI Series: Full Schedule

The first ODI will be played on Friday 25 November at Eden Park in Auckland. (7 AM IST)

The second ODI will be played on Sunday, November 27 at Seddon Park in Hamilton. (7 AM IST

The third ODI will be played on Wednesday, 30 November at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch. (7 AM IST)

Read more: IPL 2023: Shikhar Dhawan’s shocking statement on SRH after becoming the captain of Punjab Kings

IND vs NZ ODI Series: Squads

India: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Rishabh Pant (VC & WK), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (WK), W Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik.

New Zealand:

Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Tom Latham (wk), Matt Henry.