In the first ODI between India and Sri Lanka, Rohit Sharma withdrew the Mankading appeal against Dasun Shanaka. Since then Rohit Sharma has been in constant discussion. This decision of the Indian captain is being praised on social media. However, Rohit’s withdrawal of appeal has raised questions whether he is against Mankading. After the match, the Indian captain explained why he had withdrawn the appeal against Shanaka.
After the match, when Rohit Sharma was asked about the drama in the last over, he said, “I didn’t know that Shami did it and appealed to the umpire, but he was batting on 98. . He played brilliantly in this match. We can’t get him out like this. We wanted to take his wicket the way we thought, but it was not the way we wanted to take his wicket. Batted brilliantly in the match and we can’t take the credit away from him.”
What happened in the match?
In the first ODI between India and Sri Lanka, India scored 373 runs while batting first. In response, the Sri Lankan team had lost two wickets within 21 runs. After this, this team could never return to the match. Pathum Nishanka got out after scoring 72 runs. At the same time, Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka continued to fight alone till the end. He scored an unbeaten 108 off 88 balls, but could not win Sri Lanka. India won this match by 67 runs.
This decision and sportsmanship of Rohit Sharma is being highly praised on social media
Dasun Shanaka was on 98 in the last over of this match and was standing on non-strike. Even before the bowler Shami bowled, he left the crease and went ahead. Shami ran him out and also appealed to the umpire. When the on-field umpire sought the help of a third umpire to check the run out, Indian captain Rohit Sharma withdrew his appeal. After this Shanaka got strike and he also completed his century. This decision and sportsmanship of Rohit Sharma is being highly praised on social media.