Ireland Announces team with two new faces to compete with India

Ireland has announced a 14-man squad for the upcoming two T20I series against India. Uncapped batsman Stephen Doheny and fast bowler Conor Olfert have been included in the team for this series. Doheny and Olfert were both recently contracted as retainers by Cricket Ireland. The 23-year-old Doheny has scored 74 not out at an average of 52.67 in T20 trophy competition.

Also Read: IND vs SA: Dinesh Karthik was seen in a funny way before the fourth T20 match

Simultaneously, he scored crucial points for the team in the 50-over inter-provincial competition while top-order, with his highest being 97 runs. The 26-year-old Olfert, who made his List A debut in 2020, has joined the team with his best performance this season. The pacer was included in the squad as a net bowler for Ireland’s tour of UAE in 2021. He has so far taken six wickets in the Inter-Provincial T20 Trophy at 19.17 and has also taken 6 wickets in the 50-over competition.

Andrew Balbirnie will lead the team for the two matches on 26 and 28 June

The team will be led by Andrew Balbirnie for the two matches on June 26 and 28. And include Mark Adair, Paul Stelling and Andrew McBrine. National men’s selectors chairman Andrew White said it was good to see so many new faces in the team. Choosing a team for the series was a challenging process. There aren’t many better challenges for the new national coach than to start his stint against the world’s number one ranked T20 team, India.

Also Read: New Zealand’s Devon Conway Tests Positive For COVID-19

Henrik has been working hard since joining the Ireland team

A release issued by Cricket Ireland said, ‘Henrik has been working hard since joining the Ireland team. They are constantly improving their game and trying to give their best. Both the players have impressed the selectors with their performances this season. The team manager is expecting him to perform well in the future as well.

Ireland T20 squad for India series: Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Camper, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olfert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button