NZC Contract shocks veteran player, 2 new cricketers included

Sarita Dey
3 years ago

New Zealand has released a new list of contracted players. Test spinner Ajaz Patel, however, has been dropped from the 20-member list. He is in the squad to leave for England next week. He was injured most of the time last year, which he had to bear the brunt of. At the same time, limited-overs batsman Glenn Philip, all-rounder Daryl Mitchell has been included in the list of contracted players of New Zealand cricket for the first time.

Glenn Phillips and Daryl Mitchell are two such fresh faces. The New Zealand Cricket Board awarded the duo with first-time central contracts. On Friday, the cricket body announced central contracts to their top-20 cricketers and made some notable inclusions. Both Phillips and Mitchell have done exceptionally well for New Zealand lately and left the selectors impressed. While Phillips was mainly awarded for his exploits in T20Is, the batting all-rounder made a mark in all formats.

Mitchell reeled off his maiden Test and ODI centuries and played his part across all three formats this international summer. Phillips made the T20 arena his own. Smashing 366 runs at a 40.6 average, including an exhilarating 46-ball century against the West Indies. Bay Oval in November – the fastest by a New Zealander in T20I history.

Read more: CSK spinner Karn Sharma gave 5 lakh rupees for help against Covid

Test specialist Ajaz Patel has not been offered a New Zealand contract for the coming season. After coming onto the list for the first time last year. While BJ Watling has also been omitted after confirming his impending retirement from all cricket.

“There’s no question Daryl and Glenn took their games to another level over. The summer and have added to the growing depth of talent we now enjoy,” he added.

The first round offers of the 96 men’s domestic contracts by the six Major Associations will be confirmed by June 21.

Players offered national contracts for 2021-22: Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

Recent News