Ranji Trophy: Sports Minister Manoj Tiwary creates history by scoring a century, Bengal will compete in the semi-finals, Madhya Pradesh

The first quarterfinal match of the Ranji Trophy was a draw between Bengal and Jharkhand. Bengal have reached the semi-finals due to their first innings lead. There he will face Madhya Pradesh. State Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Manoj Tiwary scored a century in the second innings for Bengal. He is the first batsman to score a century in the 88-year history of Ranji Trophy while being a minister of state.

Also Read: Ind vs SA: Why India lost to Proteas even after scoring 211 runs, Captain Rishabh Pant told the reason

28th century of Manoj Tiwary in the first class

Tiwary scored 136 runs on the fifth day of the match. He hit 19 fours and two sixes in his 185-ball innings. This is Manoj Tiwary’s 28th century in the first class. He has 9289 runs in 204 innings of 129 matches. 303 not out is his highest score. The 36-year-old batsman had scored 73 runs in the first innings.

Also Read: Ind vs SA T20 2022; Ishan Kishan Jamai Fifty, left Yuvraj and Gambhir behind in this matter

In the second innings for Bengal, Shahbaz Ahmed scored 46, Anustup Majumdar 38 and Abhishek Porel scored 34 runs. All three batsmen played big innings in the first innings as well. Bengal had scored 773 for seven in the first innings. Nine of his batsmen had scored 50 or more runs. For the first time in the 250-year history of first-class cricket, nine batsmen from a team scored 50 or more runs in an innings.

Shahbaz Nadeem took five wickets for 59 runs for Jharkhand

Shahbaz Nadeem took five wickets for 59 runs for Jharkhand. At the same time, Virat Singh scored 136 not out in the first innings. Bengal are eyeing a place in the final for the second time in a row. In the second semi-final, there will be a match between Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh. Both the matches will start in Bengaluru on June 14.

Brief Scores:

Bengal (1st innings): 773/7 innings declared (Sudip Gharmi 186 runs and Anustup Majumdar 117 runs; Sushant Mishra 3/140).
Jharkhand (1st innings): 298/10 (Virat Singh 113 not out, Nazim Siddiqui 53 runs; Shahbaz Ahmed 4/51).
Bengal (2nd innings): 318/7 (Manoj Tiwary 136 not out, Shahbaz Ahmed 46; Shahbaz Nadeem 5/59).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button