Batsman Ross Taylor and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme have not been named in New Zealand’s 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup, set to be played in UAE from October 17.

All-rounder Mark Chapman and spin bowler Todd Astle have been included in New Zealand’s 15-man T20 World Cup squad.

Taylor, a veteran of 102 T20Is. He has not featured for New Zealand in the shortest format since November 2020 when New Zealand played West Indies at home.

New Zealand has picked three spinners – Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, and Todd Astle. They have also included four frontline seamers – Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, and Kyle Jamieson. To go with the all-around options of Daryl Mitchell and James Neesham.

Kane Williamson’s squad has been named 👇

” NZC chief executive David White said Tuesday. “I’m satisfied we’ve selected strong squads for all our touring commitments this winter.”

The squad for New Zealand’s Test series in India will be announced next month. The NZC chief executive David White said- They need to safeguard the well-being of our players and support staff is now very real. And we’ve endeavored to do this by carefully managing their workloads over this winter’s massive playing program.

Read more: Ashish Nehra lauds Jasprit Bumrah’s heroics in Nottingham Test

In the five-match T20I series against Pakistan, some of the members of the World Cup squad – Todd Astle, Mark Chapman, Martin Guptill, and Ish Sodhi – will join the side. Matt Henry too will be a part of the T20Is in Pakistan, which is set to begin on September 25.

White said. “We’ve always tried to be realistic about the IPL. And this particular issue is very much a one-off, caused by a unique set of circumstances.