WI vs ENG ODIs: Sherfane Rutherford and Matthew Forde are the two uncapped all-rounders included in West Indies’ squad for the ODI series against England. Wicketkeeper-batter Shane Dowrich, who played one ODI back in 2019, returns to the team while opener Kjorn Ottley has also been included in the 15-member squad for the 50-over games, having last played two ODIs for the West Indies in January 2021.

Ottley and Dowrich both played weel in domestic :-

Both Ottley and Dowrich fared well in the domestic Super50 Cup. Dowrich has an average of 78 from five innings, with his 234 runs including a century and a fifty. Ottley is the third highest run-getter with 317 runs in 8 innings, averaging 45.28, with a century and a fifty.

Justin Greaves was not available for selection :-

Justin Greaves was not available for selection due to an injury he sustained recently. Meanwhile, Nicholas Pooran and Jason Holder weren’t available as they prioritised preparation in the T20I format, with the latter also concentrating on Test cricket.

Also Read:- Australia’s Rhetoric Regarding The Pitch is Not Stopping Even After Winning The World Cup

WI vs ENG: Alzarri Joseph appointed as the vice captain :-

The selection panel appointed Alzarri Joseph as the vice captain of the West Indies side. “We named Alzarri Joseph as vice captain as he demonstrated maturity and good leadership qualities for the Leeward Islands Hurricanes during the recent CG United Super50 Cup. We believe with exposure and opportunities he could be a future leader in West Indies cricket,” explained chief selector Desmond Haynes.

The ODI series gets underway in December with the first two matches to be play in Antigua on December 3 and 6. The third ODI will be played in Barbados on December 9. The last two matches will be day-night encounters.

WI vs ENG: West Indies squad for England ODIs :-

  • Shai Hope (captain)
  • Alzarri Joseph (vice captain)
  • Alick Athanaze
  • Yannic Cariah
  • Keacy Carty
  • Roston Chase
  • Shane Dowrich
  • Matthew Forde
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Brandon King
  • Gudakesh Motie
  • Kjorn Ottley
  • Sherfane Rutherford
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Oshane Thomas

Also Read:- Australia’s Pat Cummins Reached The Banks Of The Sabarmati River With The World Cup Trophy