Do You Remember Gayatri Reddy? The Team Owner Who Won Hyderabad Its First IPL Trophy!

Sangeeta Viswas
1 month ago

Do you remember Gayatri Reddy? The team owner who won Hyderabad its first IPL trophy! During IPL 2024, Sunrisers Hyderabad owner Kavya Maran was in the news a lot. But do you know that before the Hyderabad team, there used to be another female owner whose name was Gayatri Reddy?

In today’s video, we will talk about Gayatri Reddy and the journey of her team Deccan Chargers.

Hyderabad’s First Title

In the very first season of IPL, Hyderabad participated in the tournament under the name of Deccan Chargers. The owner of this team was Gayatri Reddy, who was then the feature editor of the Deccan Chronicle newspaper.

Also read: Former Australian Captain’s Big Decision Before T20 WC, Will Now Represent The Italian Team

In the second season of IPL held in 2008, Deccan Chargers performed brilliantly and won the title. This team, captained by Adam Gilchrist, created history by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

Contribution Of Gayatri Reddy

Gayatri Reddy also had a big contribution in this victory. From team selection to strategy making, she supported the team on every front. It was her vision and leadership skills that made Deccan Chargers the IPL champions for the first time.

But What Happened Then?

In 2012, Deccan Chargers faced financial difficulties and the team was bought by Sun TV Network owner Kalanithi Maran. After this, the team was renamed Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Read more:-  Explosion in Bengal Cricket! Wriddhiman Saha’s Return, Secret Meeting With Sourav Ganguly?

In today’s era…

Today Kavya Maran is the owner of Sunrisers Hyderabad and is known for her beauty and glamour. But can we forget Gayatri Reddy and her contribution?

Dream11 Free and Paid Team – Join Telegram Channel Click

Recent News