IPL 2021 player retention deadline set for January 21

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

The IPL governing Council had a virtual meeting on Monday. The GC has finalized that the IPL franchises will have to declare their player retention list by January 21.

A BCCI member caught up with Mirror on Tuesday (January 5). He shared the meeting’s details and stated that IPL 2021’s host country will depend on how the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy pans out in India.

The source confirmed that the franchises could swap players in the transfer window until January 21.

Read More | Yuvraj Singh wishes a speedy recovery for Sourav Ganguly, Dada you are a fighter

The teams had the same deadline to release their players before the mini-auction, which could occur around February 11.

There will be a mini-auction only ahead of the 14th IPL season. Teams like Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, and Sunrisers Hyderabad are unlikely to make too many alterations to their respective squads.

While there is still some time left for the 2021 IPL season, three stars who played IPL 2020 have decided that they would not participate this year.

Chennai Super Kings’ opener Shane Watson and Royal Challengers Bangalore’s wicketkeeper batsman Parthiv Patel have announced their retirement from all forms of cricket.

Read More | IPL: Dinesh Karthik reveals his two best IPL season

Meanwhile, Dale Steyn declared that he will not be available to play for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2021.

It is pertinent to note that Steyn recently played in the Lanka Premier League. He will also be available to play in the Pakistan Super League this year.

Source: SportsKeeda

Recent News