CricketCricket NewsIPL

IPL, Rajasthan Release Smith, Punjab drops Maxwell

IPL Retention 2021 Highlights: Rajasthan Royals have released Steve Smith from their squad ahead of the next auction, with Glenn Maxwell and Lasith Malinga among the other big names released by Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians respectively.

IPL 2021

Rajasthan Royals released Steve Smith ahead of the IPL 2021 auction, with Glenn Maxwell and Lasith Malinga let go by the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Mumbai Indians (MI) respectively as well.

MI further opted to release Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell McClenaghan, Sherfane Rutherford, James Pattinson, Digvijay Deshmukh and Prince Balwant Rai. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retained 12 players, with Moeen Ali, Aaron Finch, Isuru Udana the big names released by the Bangalore-based franchise.

Harbhajan Singh took to Twitter to announce that his contract with the three-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has ended. The Chennai-based franchise released Kedar Jadhav, Piyush Chawla among the other big names barring Harbhajan. Other franchises did not make very noteworthy omissions maintaining an emphasis on retaining the core.

Chennai Super Kings: Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Kedar Jadhav amongst players released by CSK Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Murali Vijay, Monu Singh, Shane Watson are the players who have been released by the Chennai Super Kings. While Watson has retired, the other players are active in the game. 

Retained Squad:  MS Dhoni(c), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Bravo, Josh Hazlewood, Sam Curran, KM Asif, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, N Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur, R Sai Kishore.

Jason Roy, Alex Carey amongst big names released by Delhi Capitals

Retained: Shreyas Iyer (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw, R Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Daniels Sams, Anrich Nortje.

Released: Alex Carey, Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Sharma.

Also Read: AUS vs IND Series 2021 India’s Greatest winning

Suraj Roman

Suraj Haldar is one of the great sports analyzers in India. He has good experience especially in cricket and that's why he is always ready to be updated with cricket.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: