BCCI announces India Women’s squad for South Africa Series

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

Board of Cricket Council India announces 18 members India Women’s squad for Series against South Africa.

India Women and South Africa Women will play five one-day internationals and 3 T20 International in the South Africa Women Tour of India series starting on March 7.

The ODI squad, captained by Mithali Raj, also has Mansi Joshi returning to the mix after a series of stress fractures. Joshi, a fast bowler, returns to the squad for the first time in over 15 months. She wasn’t part of the Women’s T20 Challenge last November because of the injury.

Batters Yastika Bhatia and C Pratyusha along with left-arm seamer Monica Patel are the three uncapped players in the squad.

Hard-hitting 17-year old top-order batter Shafali Verma has only been picked for their T20Is, along with batters Harleen Deol, Ayushi Soni, and medium-pacer Simran Bahadur. That squad will be captained by Harmanpreet Kaur.

The entire contingent is currently serving a five-day quarantine in Lucknow. All of them will have to clear two Covid-19 tests during this period before they can begin training.

India Women’s squad for ODI series:

Mithali Raj (C), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur (VC), D. Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Swetha Verma (wk), Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, C. Prathyusha, Monica Patel 

India Women’s squad for South Africa

India Women’s T20I squad:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sushma Verma (wk), Nuzhat Parveen (wk), Ayushi Soni, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, C. Prathyusha, Simran Dil Bahadur

India Women vs South Africa Women ODI schedule:

17th March1st ODILucknow
29th March2nd ODILucknow
312th March3rd ODILucknow
414th March4th ODILucknow
517th March5th ODILucknow

India Women vs South Africa Women T20I schedule:

120th March1st T20ILucknow
221st March2nd T20ILucknow
323rd March3rd T20ILucknow

Recent News