Cricket News

New Zealand qualify for ICC World Test Championship final

New Zealand becomes the first team to qualify for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship(WTC) final.

The postponement of the Test series between South Africa and Australia means New Zealand has become the first team to qualify for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship final to be held in England from June 18 to 22, with June 23 as the reserve day.

New Zealand are currently ranked second on the ICC WTC table with a points percentage of 70 percent, which has secured them a place in the final.

They will be joined by either India, England, or Australia with the second spot being determined by the outcome of the India v England four-match Test series due to start on Friday.

Justin Langer’s men were due to play three Tests against the Proteas, and Australia named their squad last week with the intent to fly out this month.

But the situation became untenable with the outbreak in South Africa accelerated by a new variant said to be more contagious than earlier strains of the virus.

To book their place, India will have to win the series against England by 2-1, 2-0, 3-1, 3-0, or 4-0, margin.

For England to qualify and join New Zealand, they will have to win the series against India by 3-1, 3-0, or 4-0 margin.

Australia can still qualify for the much-anticipated ICC WTC final if the series between India and England ends up like a drawn series, or if India wins the series 1-0 or England win it by 1-0, 2-1, or 2-0 margin. 

Sudev Haldar

Sudev Haldar is a sports blogger, who has an experience of more than 3 years in this field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: