BCCI announced Indian Squad for WTC final and Test series in England

Sudev Haldar
3 years ago

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced Indian Squad for ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final and Test series in England

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and fitness order batsman Hanuma Vihari have returned to India’s 20-man Test squad for the World Test Championship final against New Zealand and the five-match series against England next month, while Hardik Pandya’s Name not considered. Fast bowler Mohammed Shami, who was out of the home series against England due to injuries, has also returned to the team. All three were hurt during the Australia tour.

Pandya did not get a place in the team due to this

Hardik, who was part of the team in the home series against England, could not play. He is still not in a position to bowl. Therefore, he was not selected. He can get a place in the team as a batsman in a shorter format. But he will have to bowl to be selected in the Test team.

A BCCI source said, “Hardik Pandya is not in a position to bowl right now.” He was kept in the team against England so that he could prepare to handle the bowling load. But that experiment did not run. That is why his name was not considered for Test cricket.

The selectors have also put Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Arzan Nagwaswalla on the team as standby. Opener Easwaran and fast bowler Avesh Khan were also in the team during the series against England. At the same time, Prasidh Krishna and left-arm fast bowler Arzan of Gujarat were selected due to the extra speed. Arjan has taken 62 wickets in 16 matches since his debut in first-class cricket in 2018.

Bhuvi out due to fitness problem

KL Rahul, an appendix operative and Corona-infected Wriddhiman Saha, have been placed in the team provided they are fully fit. Spinner Kuldeep Yadav and fast bowler Navdeep Saini, who is struggling with bad form, have been dropped from the team as expected. Axar Patel is in the team as the third spinner. On the other hand, limited-overs batsman Prithvi Shaw could not tempt the selectors. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was not selected due to a fitness problem.

Indian Squad for WTC final and Test series in England

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (when fit), Wriddhiman Saha (when fit).

Standby: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

World Test Championship (WTC) final Schedule

18 – 22 JuneWTC Final vs New ZealandSouthampton

India vs England Test series Schedule

14 – 8 August1st Test vs EnglandNottingham
212 – 16 August2nd Test vs EnglandLondon (Lord’s)
325 – 29 August3rd Test vs EnglandLeeds
42 – 6 September4th Test vs EnglandLondon (Oval)
510 – 14 September5th Test vs EnglandManchester

Recent News